Our Blog

holly_knott_skaneateles_artist

Holly Knott is a Finger Lakes, NY artist who could never call just one medium her own. In 2004, she “retired at a young age” from a 17-year career as an interactive systems designer and usability testing specialist in Princeton, NJ, and moved from beautiful Bucks County, PA, to equally beautiful upstate NY so that she could devote 100% of her time to her fine art. She spends her free time working in a wide variety of media, including contemporary art quilts, photography, watercolors, hand-painted furniture, and web/graphic design. She is also co-author of the book “Quilted Garden Delights,” to be released by C&T Publishing in February, 2008. See her “Our book” page for more information.

Inspiration for her work comes from her surroundings, including her love of local colonial and Victorian architecture, cityscapes, rural landscapes, historical sites, cottage gardens, nature, and the enchantment of nearby riverside and lakeside towns.

Holly’s photographs and art quilts have won awards, and her art quilts are exhibited in juried art shows, quilt shows and galleries nationwide. Her work has appeared in several publications, including on the cover of Quilting Arts magazine (June 2005), in Life in the Finger Lakes magazine (Summer 2005), in the new C&T book, “Innovative Fabric Imagery for Quilts,” the International Quilt Festival’s 2004 Chicago show brochure, and on the cover of 2004 St. John’s University alumni brochure, Conversatio (see images and links below for more information on all of these). She also wrote an article for Quilting Arts magazine, and her art quilts have been included in several slide presentations given by other fiber artists in the U.S. The Alliance for American Quilts included Holly in their “Quilters’ – Save Our Stories” interviews. You can read her interview here.

She holds an A.A.S. in Advertising Design from Mercer County Community College, NJ, where she received scholarships and awards for artistic excellence. She is a member of IQA, Studio Art Quilt Associates, and the Art Quilters Alliance of New York.

Contact Holly at hollyknott@hollyknott.com.
http://www.hollyknott.com/index.htm

Posted: Sunday, December 28th, 2008 @ 8:04 am by Curt
Filed under: Notable Locals
Tags: ,,,,

 
 
 
 
bob_comenole_skaneateles
Local Notable Bob Comenole writes for Skaneateles Journal
Skaneateles resident and career teacher Bob Comenole is the author of five books. He is now completing work on a screenplay, a sequel to “It’s a Wonderful Life,” and has written a special five-part serial to be published each Sunday for the holiday season. The chapters will be posted each week below:
Chapter 1: A Forgotten Rose
Chapter 2: A Christmas Bandit
Chapter 3: Colloquy on a Narrow Staircase
Chapter 4: Three Wise Guys & The Little Zippo Girl
Editorial Reviews
Product Description
Set squarely in the tradition of “A Christmas Carol” and “The Grinch,” this novel follows the adventures of a lonely, homeless woman, a miserable old man, three immigrant families, and a lost boy, all of whom find peace and redemption through a series of unexpected miracles on Christmas Eve. Heart wrenching and rewarding, this is just the tale to put you in the holiday mood. The Long Night of Clement C. Craggogre has that true, rich 19th Century feel.
About the Author
Bob Comenole is the author of “Bushel & Lamp,” a collection of essays and short stories. A winner of the Sinclair Award for Prose, and the Harmon Award for Fiction, Comenole has also written twenty children’s books, including “The Glassblower’s Daughter,” and “The Silversmith of Marblehead.” Comenole has taught writing, rhetoric and literature at Miami University, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and SUNY Geneseo. Currently he teaches at the State University of New York at Cortland. He is completing work on a football novel, “The Kismet of Oblong Objects.”

Posted: Tuesday, December 23rd, 2008 @ 4:30 pm by Curt
Filed under: Notable Locals
Tags: ,,,,,,

 
 
 
 

masterworks_chorale_maureen_mccauleyMasterWorks Chorale was founded as Marcellus Chorale in 1965 by Dr. Joseph Centrone, the Chorale’s first conductor. Dr. Centrone formed a chorus from four church choirs in Marcellus, New York. The present conductor, Maureen McCauley, assumed leadership in 1977.

Throughout the years, Chorale has presented a wide variety of performances. Christmas concerts have ranged from cabarets with choreography and costumes, to joint concerts with local choirs, high school groups, and handbell choirs. Original productions of popular choral arrangements with choreography, dialogue, and costuming were presented for many years. Marcellus Chorale performed jointly with other community choral groups, including the Oneida Area Civic Chorale, Endwell Community Chorus, Oswego Festival Chorus, and Mt. Carmel Seventh-Day Adventist Church.

MasterWorks Chorale, Inc.
PO Box 27
Marcellus, NY  13108
mwcinfo@masterworkschoralecny.org

Posted: Sunday, December 21st, 2008 @ 8:23 am by Curt
Filed under: Notable Locals
Tags: ,,,,

 
 
 
 

jill_little_sharing_medice

I want to keep you up to date on Jill’s new book Sharing the Medicine of Love. It was released in November. Everyone who has read it has loved it. I’ve been told it is the perfect Holiday gift and will be especially appreciated by women.

I’ve included a book critic’s comments, press release and the web address: www.medicineoflove.com if you would like to order a copy.

Please send this e-mail to everyone on your e-mail list so the entire world may become a happier place. More love and caring will be the order of the day.

Have a beautiful, love filled Christmas season.

Ed Little

(more…)

Posted: Saturday, December 6th, 2008 @ 9:18 am by Curt
Filed under: Blog Skaneateles,Notable Locals
Tags: ,,,

 
 
 
 

buzz_kenneth_buzz__shaw
SU Chancellor Emeritus Pens Supplement to ‘The Intentional Leader’

The challenges of leadership are many: motivating and inspiring others, resolving conflicts, leading groups, making effective decisions, maintaining high ethical standards, developing the leadership skills of others. And, finally, knowing when to step down.

These are among the topics discussed in “The Intentional Leader – 2009 Supplement” by Skaneateles resident Kenneth A. “Buzz” Shaw, Chancellor Emeritus and University Professor at Syracuse University. The book was published Dec. 1 by Syracuse University Press.

“The Intentional Leader,” first published by SU Press in 2005, has sold more than 2,200 copies and is widely used as a college text. Rather than publishing a second edition, Shaw decided to take a more novel approach—playing off the original.

“In this day of thinking green, why not save a few trees and find a way to make the best use of what is available?” he writes, in explaining his rationale. “Why not give loyal readers of the first and only edition an inexpensive way to keep up-to-date?”

Part One contains additional information and observations following chapters and topics as they appear in the original. Included are articles on leadership written by Shaw for the Central New York Business Exchange, materials used in Shaw’s leadership classes, student summaries of “The Leader’s Voice” by Clarke and Crossland, and additions to the Selected Readings list.

Part Two, Learning Leadership Through Movies, encompasses the study of 31 titles. “[Movies] influence us in many ways—both good and bad,” Shaw writes. “But we can learn a great deal from them, particularly about leadership, if our viewing is purposeful and if there is a structure to keep us on track.” Short summaries are provided for each movie, followed by a series of questions that reinforce leadership principles and skills.

As a companion to the supplement, 10 videos—featuring Shaw’s graduate students and illustrating ways to manage conflicts and lead groups—are available on his website, http://whitman.syr.edu/shaw/.

Shaw, who earlier this year was named a Laureate of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois, the state’s highest honor, served as a campus or system president for 27 years—at Southern Illinois University, the University of Wisconsin System and, from 1991 to 2004, at Syracuse University. The recipient of eight honorary degrees, he has served as a consultant to numerous educational, governmental and private-sector organizations.

“The Intentional Leader – 2009 Supplement” is available for $11.95 at local bookstores or at http://www.syracuseuniversitypress.syr.edu/spring-2009/intentional-leader-2009-supplement.html.

Posted: Saturday, December 6th, 2008 @ 8:42 am by Curt
Filed under: Blog Skaneateles,Notable Locals
Tags: ,,,,

 
 
 
 
 
 
Page 3 of 812345...Last »